Bandung Noodle Soup

20121211-194427.jpg

One of my Malaysian friends in Tampa near my place, has a great graving for Bandung Noddles. I have never heard about it in my life. It sound like an Indonesian dish. I went online and checked around. Alright, it is not as complicated as I thought. This is my version.

1. 1 lb shrimp, unshelled, put the shrimp shells in a 1 qt pot and cook with 2 cups water for 10 mins

2. Blend:
1 cup sliced onion, 1 tbs sliced garlic, 1 tbs sliced ginger, 1 small pcs shrimp paste (optional), 1 stalk thinly slice lemon grass or 1 tbs lemon grass powder, 1 tsp galangal powder, 1 tbs Chiu Chow chili paste or 1 tbs red pepper flake, 1 tbs chili garlic sauce (fresh chili paste)

20121211-194401.jpg

3. Brown 1 medium red onions, sliced and 1 clove garlics, sliced and 1/2 tsp oil on medium heat for 5-10 mins

4. Add #2 and cook till for 10-15 mins till fragrance, push to one side, at the same time, using the same pan (my Salamaster Braiser pan is huge), so I cook shrimps for 10-15 mins on medium heat

5. Add 4-6 Tbs ketchup, 1-2 tsp salt 1/4 cup crushed peanuts

6. Add 2 cups cut tofu or cut cooked chicken and 2 cups sliced Brussels sprouts
Cook for 15 mins

7. Add the broth on # 1 and enough water or 32 oz vegetarian/beef broth.

8. Crack and add 4-6 eggs, poach them, do not stir, till them all cooked

9. Put 1/2 bowl of cooked fettuccine noodles on a bowl, ladle enough soup and pour it on, ladle an poached egg and one small size of lime wedge and some cooked shrimps.

My girl friend says, I want to a doggie bag for my lunch tomorrow, make sure give me enough soup.

One thought on “Bandung Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

