A Dyslexic Story

Hi, My name is Simon Tan. I am 16 years old and I have dyslexia.

I studied at Sin Ming Chinese school, when I was in primary school. I did not do well in school. My report card was all red marks. I did not like school because I cannot read well the words and understand it although I tried my best. I have great difficulty coping with three languages (Chinese, English, and Bahasa Malaysia) taught in school. The teachers punished me. They say I’m lazy.

I have two brothers who have dyslexia. My mother noticed that I have the same characteristics and difficulties as my brothers. She had me tested by Pastor Serena. She took me out of school and I joined my brother, Jonathan at Katsu when I was 9 years old.

I started the reading program with Jonathan. This is the best thing that happened to us. In 6 months we could read, write, and spell words that we could not spell before. I met many amazing people having the same problems as me. I started learning phonics and I was able to understand the words after I have learned the phonics. Slowly everyday I improved. I was able to work on my own after 6 months of training. I became independent, helpful, and hard working. I have purpose and even thought about writing a book. I like all my teachers and they encourage me in my studies and writing.

After 7 years studying at Katsu, I became much better at reading and writing. I am more disciplined and helpful.

I am thankful my mother is my advocate. She made so many sacrifices for me. I love my mother for helping me to become what I am today.

Now I would like to be a Hotel Owner. My ambition is to have a Multi-Billion-Dollar Hotel where all the rich and famous will come and enjoy my luxurious hotel.

Thank you,
Simon Tan

Leave a Reply

